National Coming Out Day 2017

Happy National Coming Out Day!

For those who do not know, National Coming Out Day began on October 11th, 1987 when half a million people marched on Washington for LGBT Rights. Since that day, October 11th has been used to celebrate coming out and being out. Many people also use this day to come out for the very first time, or come out to a new person/group.

I remember when national coming out day came around while I was still in the closet. I felt a sense of urgency to do it that day, but got nervous and waited some more. National Coming Out Day is not supposed to pressure anyone to come out when they’re not ready, so if you’re in the closet and don’t feel ready – don’t come out today! This day did give me a little nudge to bit the bullet and tell my parents. I think it was beneficial to me to have national coming out day take place during the time I was deciding when to come out.

Part of me feels like we shouldn’t have to “come out” per se. We should be able to just start seeing someone, or have it come up in conversation. A big dramatic “let’s sit down and cry moment” isn’t always necessary or wanted. If that is your experience, there isn’t anything wrong with that, coming out to my parents was mildly dramatic, but if that’s not the experience you want then it doesn’t have to be that way.

For me, being out is liberating and incredibly important. I always try to be the “out person” that I needed when I was questioning my sexuality. Being out for me can also be very political, especially right now. Having out role models is crucial for people in the closet. It’s also really important for everyone else to see that LGBTQIA+ people are not some far off distant idea, but rather are your neighbors, friends, colleagues, and family members.

I hope everyone has an incredible National Coming Out Day, and is able to celebrate being LGBTQIA+!

5 thoughts on “National Coming Out Day 2017

  1. I am SO happy for you!!!! I wish everyone felt comfortable with who they are and were just accepted for that! I treat everyone the exact same. Basically, if you are a jerk, I will treat you like that and not want anything to do with you, but if you are nice, that is all I see and I will treat you the same!!! Keep living your life and be true to yourself!!!
    Love, Alyssa

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It honestly makes me mad that people judge others on color, gender, sexuality, religion and everything else. Those things do not matter to me at all! I have this couple that are lesbians. They are great and great to each other. I think they love each so much and I hate others judge them!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

