Mexico Exhibit at the Dallas Art Museum

Yesterday I went to the Dallas Art Museum specifically to see the Mexico Exhibit.

For the summer class I’m taking I also had to visit an art museum, so this trip killed two birds with one stone. I really wanted to see the Mexico exhibit because they had some Frida Kahlo Paintings on display and I love her work. They also had quite a few of her husband, Diego Rivera’s pieces.

The whole exhibit was amazing. They showcased so many talented Mexican artists! The only thing about the visit that wasn’t great was the wait. We waited an hour to see the first half of the exhibit and twenty minutes to see the second half. I’m not an impatient person, so I was willing to wait, and happy to see that hundreds of people showed up to see the exhibit. My chronic pain however is very impatient. By the time we got to see the second half (which was where Frida’s work was) I was in so much pain it was hard to enjoy to the fullest extent. After finding her work I kind of rushed through the rest of it because my feet were hurting so bad. Seeing her work in person was definitely worth the wait and the pain though.

IMG_2295.JPG
The Two Fridas By: Frida Kahlo

They had three of her pieces, all self portraits. So many people dressed up as Frida and overall most people were there to see her work. The majority of the people there to see the exhibit were hispanic, which I thought was really cool. Art can often be white-washed and male dominated so it was nice to see such a crowd for Frida.

IMG_2290.JPG
By: Diego Rivera

I really like the way her dress looks translucent in Rivera’s painting. This was a painting of one of Rivera’s previous wives, before Kahlo.

IMG_2289.JPG
by: Ramon Cano Manilla

The detail in this painting astounds me. All of the vegetation has incredible texture and the dress is so ornate. It must have taken months or even years to paint.

IMG_2294.JPG
Alice Rahon

In addition to paintings they had a few sculptures. I found this one particularly fascinating. It’s a metal puppet entitled “The Androgyne.”

I hope I get to see more of Frida’s work in the future and would love to see this whole exhibit again.

Who’s your favorite artist?

One thought on “Mexico Exhibit at the Dallas Art Museum

Leave a Reply

