Religion and The LGBTQIA+ Community

Religion is quite a touchy topic in the LGBTQIA+ community.

Many people have experienced homophobia, transphobia, and general bigotry in the name of religion. These acts of hate often drive queer people away from religion and spirituality in general. However there are also a lot of people, me included, who actively practice a religion and are a part of the LGBTQ+ community.

In my shoes, being gay and a Christian, I find it hard to find other people like me. You get push back from conservative Christians, and I get push back from people in the LGBTQ+ community who have had bad experiences with church. I wish the queer community was more positive and open about some members being religious. I also think if more LGBTQ+ had experiences at welcoming and affirming churches, they would think differently about Christianity.

There are a lot of people who have been deeply scarred by religious parents or leader, and I would never want to belittle them or act like abuse and bigotry don’t happen in the church. However, I would like to see more conversations taking place about the intersection of faith and gender/sexuality. Lots of people are very cynical about the idea of religion, and like to push their negative feelings onto those who are religious. If you aren’t religious or spiritual or whatever, that’s completely fine and your prerogative. It isn’t your place though to tell others how they should live, or what they should believe. Religious people are always told not to push their religion onto others (and they shouldn’t), so don’t push your lack of beliefs onto me.

There are LGBTQIA+ people of every religion. I hope to see more positivity for queer Christians, Jewish people, Hindu people, muslims, buddhists, and queer people of any other religions, in the near future.

Are you religious?

Were you raised in a certain religion?

 

11 thoughts on “Religion and The LGBTQIA+ Community

  1. I was raised a Christian and continue to be a Christian. However, views on certain issues, over time, have changed quite a bit. So for example, in the last few years, I’ve gone from being a believer in “love the sinner, hate the sin” (something I assume you’ve heard frequently) to writing an article on how that quote is (as far as I see it) often used against the LGBTQ+ community: https://blindinjusticeblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/20/addressing-love-the-sinner-hate-the-sin/. Go figure.

    I have a deep respect and admiration for people like you, and like one of my best friends (who’s gay himself), who persevere in faith in spite of all the challenges. On the outside, it seems like no easy feat to maintain faith, for the reasons you mentioned (attacks by Christians for being LGBTQ+ and attacks from LGBTQ+ people for being Christian). But kudos to all, including you, who persevere through those challenges.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, that means a lot to me!
      As hard as the ridicule can be to take, I do like breaking stereotypes both within the LGBTQIA+ community and the Christian community. “Love the sinner, hate the sin” is something I have heard time and time again. In my opinion people use that phrase as way to relieve themselves from the blame of being bigoted and use God as an excuse to persecute others. They also are acting incredibly “holier than thou,” since as Christians we believe everyone sins and no sin is greater than another. I will definitely check out your blog, thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely agree that “love the sinner, hate the sin” is a way to relieve people from the blame of bigotry. Back when I believed in that phrase, it certainly felt like I was relieved of certain pressure. It’s so frustrating though that the phrase isn’t used for other issues though!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I grew up Christian and went to a Catholic high school. As I got older, I found I no longer identified as a Christian, partially because I didn’t share their beliefs, and partially because I didn’t like how some denominations judge others (including the LGBTQ community). I believe in being a good person and treating others with respect. That’s my religion šŸ™‚

    I have a question, if you don’t mind. What are the I and A in LGBTQIA?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The “a” stands for asexual, which is someone who doesn’t experience sexual attraction, and the “I” stands for intersex. Intersex people do not medically fit the standard definition of male or female.
      I’m glad you were able to figure out what was right for you religion-wise!

      Like

  3. Though I’ve been struggling with my own beliefs for years, my family is a mix of Catholic and Jewish. My parents never forced their beliefs (both Catholic, though my grandma on my mom’s side is Jewish) onto me and my brother and always said they’d accept us no matter who we loved or how we felt. It was all very casual when I came out to them because I just sort of mentioned my being bisexual in passing. We talked about it for a few minutes while they processed the information and then we moved on to the next dinner topic. I consider myself lucky. Everyone I’ve talked to about my sexuality has been accepting, however I dread mentioning it to my mom’s dad’s side of the family. I’ve seen how they talked about their cousin who’s a lesbian and it’s just not something I want to subject myself to. (Sorry, didn’t mean for this to become a book lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My dad was a pastor for most of my childhood and my mom is a preachers daughter, but they’ve become pretty liberal people over the years. I wouldn’t say my parents forced their religion on me, but me being a preachers daughter was a big part of my identity growing up. Coming out to them was really positive but I don’t have a need to come out to the rest of my family on either side for quite a while. I will probably never tell my conservative Christian preacher grandfather or grandmother. I’m glad that you had a good experience with your parents. I know what it’s like to feel unacceptable from exempted family even though I haven’t come out to them yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m happy you had a good experience, too!

        My grandpa on my mom’s side is very open about his views against same-sex marriage, which is why I haven’t told him yet. I feel like he would only focus on the fact that I’m attracted to men and completely ignore the part of me that’s attracted to anyone else other than a man. I hate that I feel like I can’t share this part of me with him, but at the same time I don’t want to start what will surely be an argument.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I totally feel that. My maternal grandparents (the only ones I have) are in their late seventies and my grandmother has Alzheimer’s so it’s highly likely that they either won’t be alive by the time I get married / in a really serious committed relationship or they won’t be cognizant enough to understand. Even though I don’t see eye to eye with them on anything I love them very much and want to continue making memories with them and I know coming out would greatly affect that. I’ve never really liked many of my aunts and uncles so if they find out and “disown” me I wouldn’t really care. I don’t think they would, they would probably just pretend the conversation never happened and wouldn’t ever talk about it again, but as long as my grandparents are alive and I’m not in a relationship I don’t want to tell them. Family dynamics can be complicated!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s exactly how I feel with my grandpa! Though we have very different views of the world (especially when it comes to political topics), he’s still my grandpa, you know? I definitely agree. Family is complicated.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

