Daith Piercing Update

It’s been a little over nine weeks since I got my first daith piercing.

Overall the healing process has been really easy and pretty painless.

When preparing to get this piercing I watched a lot of videos on other people’s experiences getting this done and a lot of them said it hurt really bad to get the piercing and was sore for a week afterward. It’s interesting to me how everyone experiences pain differently and I guess some people are also just dramatic.

My piercer told me day four would be the worst and it was, although all I experienced was minor aching that  I honestly wouldn’t even consider pain. The only problem I’ve had with it is hypertrophic scarring. This happens to a ton of people especially with nose and cartilage piercings. Here’s a picture of it at its worst:

Gross Right?

I think I got hypertrophic scarring from sleeping on it too much and messing with it. I’ve been using salt water to clean it and it has helped. I waited a little while to do anything about the scarring so it may take a few weeks to completely go away. Right now it’s probably half the size of what’s shown in the picture.

As for the migraines it’s hard to tell if it’s helped. Before I got it I had been having less migraines than I normally did. Since getting my daith pierced I’ve had 2-3 migraines and daily dull headaches 3-5 days out of the week. Back in the fall of 2016 I was having daily migraines that would last 20+ days at a time. I know that going off Gabapentin helped me tremendously, but I can’t help to think that this may have helped some as well.

The only thing i find annoying about it is trying to use headphones. The headphones that come with iPhones will not work with this piercing. I normally don’t use those anyway but my skull candy ones broke and so I tried them out. Headphones that have a silicone ear plug on them work fine- all I have to do is rotate the piercing all the way up. The piercing does cause ear phones to come loose faster than normal, but I have relatively small ears so that may just be a “me problem.”

I still plan on getting my left ear done as well, hopefully in the next couple of weeks. I really like the look of them so even if it doesn’t help it would still be worth it to me. I definitely have the itch to get more piercings now – i’ve wanted my helix done for a few years and now I kinda want my tragus done as well. I’ll start with the second daith and see where it takes me from there lol.

-Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Daith Piercing Update

Leave a Reply

