Traveling while Chronically Ill

This weekend I’m going out of town to visit my sister at her University, so I thought this topic would be fitting. While I’m only going to be gone for a day this time, I use these tips on both short and long trips.

  1. Bring all of your meds!

Duh, right? My general rule is if I’m going to be more than 45 minutes from my house I bring “rescue meds.” For me that includes pain meds (usually tramadol or torodol) and anti-nausea medicine ( always promethazine). I also like to check and re-check to make sure I’m bringing all of the correct medications since missing a dose can  mess things up or just get you out of the habit of taking your meds.

2. Give yourself Time to Rest

When I’m out of town it’s usually to visit family or I’m on vacation. It’s easy to push yourself and keep up with other people, but in many cases this will end with you crashing and burning. Knowing your limits and sticking to them can help you save the energy you need to complete all the things you had planned for the trip.

3. Look up Restaurants before you go

This one doesn’t really apply to me, but I have been on a few different restrictive diets over the years and they make eating out difficult. Spontaneity is fun, but going to a restaurant where you can’t eat anything or at least nothing you like is frustrating. It’s can also be difficult to decided on a restaurant in the moment when traveling with other people so planning ahead is a good idea.

4. Inform those you’re traveling with

The few times I’ve traveled without my family I always found it helpful to tell at least one person about my health issues. In case of emergency someone needs to know what meds you’re on and what chronic illnesses you have. If one of your medications has a side effect that may be a problem while you travel then they need to know that as well. For example last Summer I went to the beach with a church group and one of my meds had a “beware of excessive exposure to sunlight” warning. Since we were going to be in the sun a lot I needed to let someone know I was at a high risk for heat-stoke. Even though I don’t like sharing  details about my health with able-bodied people that aren’t my family ( expect through the internet apparently, isn’t that ironic?) it’s better safe than sorry.

5. Have a plan in case of emergency

This tip goes with the last one. Make sure you have your doctor’s phone number on hand and travel with someone who can help you get emergency assistance if needed. If you’re traveling alone let a friend or family member know your plans and check-in with them.

 

I’m sure there’s a million more things to do / be weary of when traveling while chronically ill, but this is just a few. What are some things you do to make traveling easier? Do you have any “spoonie travel hacks?”

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

5 thoughts on “Traveling while Chronically Ill

  1. Thank you, really helpful. I find heat really helpful when I’m waiting for more painkillers so take hot water bottle and stick on heat pads as well as permanently having many blankets, pillows, drinks and food in the car so I can always stop and get more comfortable for anything between 20 minutes and a good few hours.

    Like

  2. My best tip is for returning home always put clean linen on your bed and make it also schedule a extra day of to recoup from your travels. Travel safe oh and keep a portable phone charger in your bag.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

