Poop Shoot: Chronically Misunderstood

Way back in the very  beginning of my medical journey I had my first ever CT scan. The pediatrician I saw thought I was having an appendicitis so I had a scan scheduled for that afternoon at the hospital in my town. Up until this point the only person in my family who had been there was my brother for a collar bone fracture, and the care wasn’t very good, so our hopes weren’t high, but we didn’t have any other choices that we knew of.

When I arrived for my appointment they have me two one-liter bottles of contrast to drink. It was thick like a smoothie while also being chalky. One was berry which I was fine with and the other was banana. I absolutely hate banana. It isn’t just a food I don’t care for, it’s my least favorite food and the smell alone makes me want to vomit. They didn’t have any more berry though, so I was going to have to suck it up. I had two hours to drink it all and I already wasn’t feeling well.

Needless to say the next two hours were awful.  I couldn’t finish the last half of the second bottle and when we went back so they could perform the CT and told the tech I couldn’t finish she said, “Oh that’s fine, one was probably enough.” Are you kidding? I dry heaved the whole time while forcing myself to drink this nasty paste and I didn’t even have to drink the second one? Ugh

Then comes the IV. This was the first time I had ever gotten one and I was terrified. They made my mom stay in the waiting room which didn’t make much sense because they hadn’t started using radiation yet. The same annoying tech stuck me three times and surprise, surprise didn’t get it.  She called in an ER nurse who got it… three times later. The whole time they searched for a vein she kept saying to me “all we’re gonna do is a take some pictures to look at your poop shoot.” I swear she said “poop shoot” like twelve times. Maybe she thought I was constipated, but there’s no way she could have known that from looking at me.  I may have been 12, but I was more than old enough to know and understand anatomical names for body parts.

Both during and after the scan she also mentioned my “poop shoot” again. Something about that phrase just weirds me out. People say some odd things to kids into to try to relate to them. If your curious I wasn’t constipated, at the time I had Mesenteric Adenitis which was super confusing and I’m still not sure how it all fits into this puzzle. I can’t help but laugh every time I think about a grown woman squawking “poop shoot” over an dover again. Who thinks of these things? 🙂

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

8 thoughts on “Poop Shoot: Chronically Misunderstood

    1. Anytime I’ve had a cat scan since then with contrast it’s been a powder mixed into Gatorade that wasn’t bad at all. The barium is awful and I can’t imagine it in a chocolate flavor … yuck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

