Continuing Education

I’m setting a date to take my GED.

If you aren’t aware, I dis-enrolled from high school back in November and have been navigating what I’m going to do ever since then. After trying online high school, it not going well, and having a the biggest fight I’ve ever had with my parents, I’m finally going to take my GED test like we had planned all along. Since I’m only seventeen I had to get approved from the state, and I was approved yesterday morning so things are starting to get in place!

I’ve been studying a little bit here and there over the last few weeks and I don’t think passing it will be a problem. I’ve always done really well in school, and the GED test is supposed to be pretty easy. I’m still going to continue to study up until my test day because unexpectedly failing would be quite embarrassing.

I feel like this is a step in the right direction, even though it makes me really sad. I never wanted to leave high school, but this is the only way for me to move on and continue my education. I want to start some college courses over the summer, so I need to get my GED and then my license and I’ll be set. I guess hard decisions are part of “becoming an adult,” and I should get used to them. It’s definitely not the end of the world, it’s just a major disappointment. The burden and stigma of being a “high school drop-out” and a GED holder could set me back in my career which makes me nervous.

This is the right decision for me and I feel good about that. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about it, researching it, and talking about it with my family. Now I just want it to be over with so I can move on.

How was your high school experience?

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

16 thoughts on “Continuing Education

  1. Good luck! 🙂 It’s different here in the UK but from 15 I think we worked out I only got in about 1/5 of the time, the only reason they let me stay I think was because I had good grades and the school wasn’t doing well in that.

    Like

    1. That’s good they let you stay! Unfortunately America doesn’t really care how good your grades are :/ They get funding from their students being there 90% of the time and since I wasn’t they would make me sit for hours before and after school to make up the time. Sometimes I think the American education system needs to learn a thing or two from other countries.

      Like

  2. I haven’t taken the GED, so I don’t know this for sure, but I’ve actually heard that the GED is harder than going to highschool. I don’t say this to scare you, but I say this because I”m a firm believer in overpreparing and I live by the quote “it’s better to be overprepared than underprepared”.

    Like

    1. That may be rue in some states, I don’t know anything about the testing outside of Texas. I’ve had another family member take the GED and they said it was incredibly easy. All the work in my prep course has been at a fourth or fifth grade level and most of it is common sense. Usually the GED is created for the lowest common denominator and for people who have been out of high school for a while, so it shouldn’t be difficult for someone who didn’t struggle in school. I agree it is better to be over prepared and so I am going to continue studying until I take my tests!

      Like

  3. My high school experience was kind of nonexistent. lol I was in and out of home school, more in than out, and eventually I had to drop out junior-ish year because the stress of being so behind (not because I couldn’t do the work, but because of scheduling issues on both sides, especially when I had to cancel because I wasn’t up to it) was putting way too much strain on my health.

    Like

    1. Sounds pretty much like my experience. I don’t think schools are equipped with the knowledge to help chronically ill students and in a lot of my experiences they just don’t want to put in the extra effort.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m happy that worked for them, and I’m surprised to hear that from a private school. I looked into private schools but they didn’t look like they would be any better. There are some private schools in my area for kids with learning disabilities such as ADHD, ADD, and Dyslexia, but I don’t think they take students who only have chronic illnesses.Did you ever look into private school? They’re also incredibly expensive, so there’s that aspect too.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I didn’t because I didn’t think it would be an option financially, but later I found out that my mom did. The school wasn’t specifically for kids with chronic illnesses, but they worked with the kids’ parents far better than my public school did. When I told my friend about my experience, she was shocked because she’d had the opposite experience.

            Liked by 1 person

        1. That’s crazy! I’ve been threatened with being charged with truancy more times than I can remember, but it never happened. Public schools gets obsessed with attendance because each student who is there 90% of the time gets them money from the state. Of course the year I leave school my state abolished truancy!

          Like

Leave a Reply

