People Don’t Have to Like You

Like most people I used to care a lot about  what others think about me.

Now not so much.

I want people close to me to like what I’m doing and the choices I make, but at the end of the day only my opinion and God’s opinion of me really matters in my eyes. Being liked is nice, but not everyone is gonna like you. There are quite a few people I don’t care for or don’t want to be around, and it’s okay for someone else not to like me.

Around those I’m not really close to I can be withdrawn and quiet. I’m an introvert, but I’m often loud and animated around people I know well. When I do let my opinionated and sarcastic attitude through some people don’t like it, and that’s okay. There are people who don’t understand sarcasm and think those whose it are just being rude, and others simply don’t like it. People  have permission to not like you, it doesn’t make them a bad person, or mean, their personality just doesn’t mesh well with yours and thats okay.

On the other hand, you don’t have to like everyone you meet. It’s okay to meet someone once and know you won’t be best fiends. Every once in a while you’ll meet someone you don’t care for at first and end of being friends later, but it doesn’t happen very often. I usually know if I’m going to really get along with someone within five minutes of meeting them. I try to continue to give people a chance, but I can be picky when it comes to friends. I get annoyed easily and can be pessimistic. I like to think I just know what I want and don’t want in a friend. I’ve had too many friendships that I was giving more than I was getting or I cared about the person much more than they cared about me, and I don’t want to do that again.

Now when I can tell someone isn’t into being around me, I don’t sweat it. That’s their opinion and I think they’re just missing out. If someone doesn’t like me, I probably wouldn’t like them either. There’s 7.5 billion people on this planet if one doesn’t like you, you’re gonna be okay.

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

3 thoughts on “People Don’t Have to Like You

  1. I think this is a lesson that the lucky ones learn, I’d rather have 4 quarters than a pocketful of pennies and its kind of the same principal. I’m happy to have a few amazing people that I can trust and count on rather than a bunch of people in my life that I never truly connect with. Stay strong and stay true; I wish I had known a fraction of what you seem to understand when I was your age, you’re lucky to see such wisdom so early in your life. much love ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

