Dear Mr. President, Thank You

Over the past eight years I have enjoyed watching the Obama family. Today seven days before inauguration of our next President, and I am sad to see them go. They have received lots of hate and bigotry, but have returned it with love and compassion. I am not only sad because of who is taking over, but also because most Barack and Michelle have been very inspiring to me.

photo.JPG

I believe Barack Obama has been one of the most intelligent, articulate, and compassion Presidents this country has ever had. He has bettered our country. I truly believe that is an fact, and not an opinion. Our economy is better, millions of people now have health insurance that previously weren’t able to, he passed marriage equality, he took down Osama Bin Laden, and the list goes on. Even in his last days in office he has worked hard to make a change.

As a queer person I will never be able to thank him enough for legalizing marriage equality. Although things could change, his decision has changed my life forever, and I am eternally grateful. I will be able to achieve my goals of getting married and having kids, thanks to him. I am grateful my dad was able to find a job after he was laid off, and I’m grateful our economy has recovered enough for him to be able to do so. Eight years ago, that may have not been the case.

cori41zviaazf0i

First Lady Michelle Obama has been a role model for me. She showed the world what a strong and articulate woman looks like. Every time I hear her speak, I get inspired to make a change in the world. She has taken her role as the First Lady seriously and has touched many lives, including mine. She isn’t some trophy wife sitting around and spending her husbands money, she works hard, and has her own career.

Barack and Michelle have shown America what a good couple looks like. With 1 in 2 marriages ending in divorce, it was refreshing to see such a strong couple. They showed us what two people who are truly in love look like, and they showed us what good parent look like. I hope to one day have a relationship like the Obamas do, and I’m in love with my best friend. I’m sad children today will not be able to grow up seeing such a strong couple in the White House.

4479006-3x4-700x933

I like how the Obamas can take a joke. Being in the lime light means every move you make is being examined under a microscope. They have continuously been on talk shows like Ellen, Jimmy Kimmel, Jimmy Fallon, etc. and are able to make fun of themselves. The Obamas laugh along, and don’t get butt-hurt when someone cracks a joke. They are able to be silly and fun, while still holding up a sense of professionalism.

So, Thank You Mr. President, and thank you First Lady. I will never forget the changes you made to this country, and how you’ve inspired me. As for the next four year, when they go low, we go high. 😉

Lots of Love and Gratitude,

Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. President, Thank You

Leave a Reply

