Acupuncture & GP Visit

On Tuesday I had my first acupuncture appointment. It was an interesting experience to say the least. The acupuncturist was the cutest old lady, and she was very sweet. She truly believes in the power of acupuncture which makes me (a skeptic) feel better.

I had needles put in my face, arms, and legs, and none of them hurt. Then she attached wires and sent an electrical current through four of them. I sat for 45 minutes while the needles were in, and a tape called “Six Bridges” played. I didn’t love the tape, it was basically a breathing exercise. I think meditation can be a good thing, but I’m not so sure it’s for me. When the acupuncture was done, she did fire cupping and then acupressure.

That night I had a migraine, felt super dizzy, and nauseous. I don’t think the acupuncture caused it, but it didn’t seem to work. Acupuncture is a process though, so I’m going to continue to try it for a little while, and if it doesn’t work, at least I tried.

Yesterday I saw my GP who I love, and we talked about whats been going on the past few months. She ordered some blood tests, which I have to get done later this week. I went right after my appointment to the lab across the street to get them done, but they stuck me four times, and didn’t get anything. They blamed it on me being dehydrated (not surprising) but I had drank a bottle of water before I went in there, and I don’t think I was dehydrated. I’m a really hard stick, and I understand that, but it isn’t impossible.

Hopefully these labs show something, although they never do, but I’m trying to stay hopeful. I’m continuously gaining weight even though I’ve been more active and have tried to change my eating habits. The weight gain has been SO rapid, there has to be something wrong. But, I guess we’ll see.

What’s going on in your life? I’d love to hear about it!

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

 

2 thoughts on “Acupuncture & GP Visit

  1. I tried acupuncture, it didn’t work for me, but some swear by it. I just got sick after every session.
    I’m a hard stick too. Drinks lots of water before, so they can’t say that. 4 sticks with nothing, you need a more experienced phlebotomist, there’s no sense in that, but I’ve had worse. Ugh.
    I’ve been really sick with vertigo recently. Hard to keep up with life when you can’t focus and want to barf.
    I hope your blood work shows something. I gained weight really fast and was having diarrhea at the same time, come to find out I have fructose malabsorption. The very last thing they tested me for, after that they were going to say I have IBS and that’s all.
    Good luck!

    Like

    1. I’m sorry your vertigo has been bad recently. I hope you have some better days ahead! I pretty much get stuck at least three times every time I go to get my blood drawn. They’re always really young or obviously inexperienced. I feel like I can tell within 2 seconds of meeting someone wether they’ll get it or not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

