Binge Watching

Being chronically ill, and having stopped school for now I have a lot of free time on my hands. While most of it is being spent sleeping, in pain, or both, I do/have watched a lot of Netflix and Hulu as a distraction coping mechanism. So here are some of my favorite shows to watch!

1.The Office

300px-the_office_us

I’m not sure if I would trust someone who hates the office. It is mostly dry humor, which is my favorite, so if you don’t like/understand sarcasm it may not be for you. *Spoiler Alert* Pam and Jim make the cutest couple, and their kids are so cute. To me this show doesn’t get boring and I could watch it for hours on end.

2. Wentworth

wentworth-cinematic-900x450

Wentworth is a female prison show, where Bea Smith is the main character ( front and center with the curly red hair.) It keeps you on your toes and I found many things in it to be surprising; unlike some shows where its so predictable you could basically write the script yourself. The only thing I’d change about this show is the amount of violence. It can be pretty gruesome, but it keeps tings interesting.

3. Call the Midwife

p02gcyjn

Call the Midwife is BBC show set in the 1950-1960’s. I don’t normally love “period pieces” but I really enjoy this show. It “travels” the main characters who are midwifes and nuns as they care for their pregnant patients and situations that arise. I love science and anything that has to do with the medical world, so watching all the situations the midwifes handle is really interesting to me.

4.  Stranger Things

4118bc185081d7b9ff5160dc6e5304cbaab081a7.jpg

This was the “hit show” of summer 2016. It appeals to both young people and adults because its main characters are children, while it’s set in the 80’s, and has brought back a lot of nostalgia for people. Stranger Things is a syfy show, where the main characters have lost there friend Will to “the upside down” and are on a quest to get him back. It was a really interesting show, and I can’t wait for season 2 to air!

5. Faking It

f74e28db7d34432ec35aaba9cecce3f3.png

I’m currently watching this show on Hulu, and I just started the third season. I really like one of the main characters named Amy. If you’re queer or a teenager, I think you’d like this show. It’s silly and dramatic, but I’m enjoying it. Faking it is mostly about the relationship between two best friends (Amy & Karma) and how faking being lesbians affects their relationship.

6. Rupaul’s Drag Race

dragracetitle

I have been OBSESSED with this show the past three months. I have watched seasons 5- 8 as well as Allstars Season 2. You can watch season 7,8, and Allstars season 2 on Logo’s website, and you can watch season 4-8 as well as both seasons of Allstars on Hulu. I don’t normally watch reality tv, but this show has me hooked. I really want to go to drag show now! My current favorite drag queens are Alaska Thunderfuck, Adore Delano, Katya Zamolodchikova,  Trixie Mattel, and Bianca Del Rio.

7. The Fosters

the-fosters-season-4-renewed

I love The Fosters, because not only does it fight the misconceptions of same-sex couples and parenting, but it also talks about foster care and adoption unlike any show I’ve ever seen. It also has really good representation ethnicity, gender, and sexuality wise.

8. The Real O’Neals

ImageGen.ashx.jpeg

This show is in its first season and I’ve been enjoying it so far! It’s one of the few shows I actually watch on the TV, and watch every week. The O’Neal family has struggles that most families can relate to… the parents got divorced, their son Kenny came out as gay, they are religious struggles, etc. It’s a funny show, and they’ve had some really cool people guest star.

9. How to Get Away with Murder

how-to-get-away.jpg

This is another show that always keep me on my toes. It is creepy, yet fascinating and it definitely isn’t predictable. A major bonus is that the main character is a black, bisexual, woman, and is the first character like this ever to be the main character of a popular TV show.

What do you like to watch on TV, Netflix, or Hulu? I’m always looking for new shows! If you’re interested in what to watch on Youtube, one of my very first articles I wrote was on LGBT Youtubers.

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

 

3 thoughts on “Binge Watching

Leave a Reply

