Killing the Killers? : Death Penalty

Imagine this scenario.

You’re a child and get in argument with your sibling. They do something that you don’t like, and you hit them. One of your parents are in the next room and see this all take place. They come over say, “we don’t hit each other,” and then they hit you as a punishment. What a hypocrite, right?

I feel like the issue of the death penalty should be just as black and white. Why do we murder, murders? I don’t believe in killing anyone, regardless of the crimes they commit. Killing someone is not an adequate punishment for any heinous crime.

Rotting in a prison cell is much more of a consequence than the death penalty.  Plus there are criminals who want to be martyrs for their crimes, and I don’t think we should give them that luxury.  You never know others circumstances in life. While there isn’t a good excuse to hurt others, there are situations in life that can completely mess with ones psyche, and cause them to do things they would never do if their mental health was under control. Being in prison gives people a chance to change and get the help they need. The prison system in America may be corrupt, but I honestly think that a life sentence is a better penalty than death.

The Death Penalty is legal, because it is not considered “cruel or unusual punishment,” which Americans are protected from under the eighth amendment. This is without a doubt in my mind both cruel, and unusual. Once a life is taken, you cannot bring it back; what part of that isn’t cruel? I also find it “unusual” to kill someone in response to them killing/ torturing someone else. Where’s the logic in that?

I think our justice system should spend more time helping people rebuild their lives, and less time playing God. We shouldn’t decide when others die, that’s God’s decision. Living in a society that builds each other up, and helps one another pick of the pieces of life when we make mistakes, is something that I think would change lives. Let me know your thoughts on this topic, and your argument one way or the other.

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

 

9 thoughts on “Killing the Killers? : Death Penalty

  1. I’m very torn on the subject.
    I do believe that we need change our prison system. If prison was actually a punishment instead of a walk in the park like it is for some inmates it would stand as more of a deterrent to crimes.
    To do that I think we need to lessen the punishment for small drug offenses and save that money for the criminals who are dangerous and/or need mental help. Our prison system can’t afford the mental help a lot of these inmates need and that is a huge problem. Our prison system can’t afford to rehabilitate most of it’s inmates like they deserve. It’s a very frustrating situation.

    Like

    1. I agree that we need to be doing more for our inmates, and need to lessen drug charges. If you are driving under the influence and putting others lives in danger, then I see why a longer sentence may be necessary, but doing drugs really only affects yourself, and the relationships you have. I am by no means “pro-drugs” but I think the “war on drugs” is ridiculous. I heard a former drug addict talk about their thoughts on drug use and law enforcement, and I found it very interesting. He said he thought drugs were a public health issue, not a legal issue, and I think I have to agree with that. Our prisons are filled with young people on petty drug charges, and they are reoffenders because they don’t get the help they need. We have some programs in place, but not nearly enough. I think we need rehab, and counseling, and education being offered to all inmates, not just some. In my opinion prison should be used not only as a punishment, but also as a way to help people get their lives back together.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree 100%!!! Addicts don’t have the help they need because it’s costly and usually there’s a long waiting list for treatment centers. So when they want the help they can’t get it.
        And you hit the nail on the head with young people going to jail and reoffending because they aren’t getting any help. It’s such a sad situation.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I agree about God being the final judge. I used to be very pro death penalty, but finding God and the power of forgiveness has changed that in most cases.

    Will the death of this one monster offset any possible deaths of innocent people killed after being wrongfully convicted? Nope. So when I think of it logically and not emotionally, I have to agree. I can’t possibly be for the death penalty. It goes against all that I am.

    Wow. Your post has seriously made me think deeply enough to change my point of view. Words are powerful. Thank you for your thoughtful writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My best friend in high school and college roommate’s grandparents were both stabbed more than 50 times each while they slept one night. Their neighbor, a gang member, did it after they called in a noise complaint.

    He has been in prison for almost two decades while he exhausts his appeals. He is now managing quite well in prison, where he is held in great esteem by fellow members.

    When he shows up in court, twenty years later, he sticks out his tongue and does devil horns and points a gun, shoots and winks at the family. He has no remorse.

    Prison isn’t hard on him. He is enveloped in a safe zone created by his gang membership and cruelty.

    I don’t see rehabilitation for him. I know that mental health is a problem, but only in that he is a sociopath.

    He exhausted his appeals and is now up for death in the state of Texas, which is pretty quick to dispose of their inmates.

    I don’t personally want to kill the man, and I don’t understand the mentality of those who are able to do so and still sleep at night, but knowing he is gone will be a huge relief.

    It is only because of this personal experience that I’m torn. I would be firmly against the death penalty if it weren’t for seeing this case over the years.

    You can Google him. Michael “Spider” Gonzales of Odessa, TX. He personifies evil.

    Forgiveness is given, but fear of his reach from prison remains. I’d love some thoughts on how best to deal with this situation.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so sorry to hear about your friends grandparents, that is horrifying. In 2012 or 2013, I can’t remember, I had a family friend murdered. He was burned alive in his car, but they never found the person who did it and later ruled it suicide to close the case, but his friends and family don’t believe that’s what happened. I live in Texas so I know how harsh our law enforcement can be. I have driven by the prison in Huntsville where the death penalty takes place many times. Being in a situation where you knew a victim is tough. I believe people can change when they get the help they need, but I also know that some people don’t change. I want to believe that if I was in a situation where I had a loved one murdered and they caught the killer that I would have grace and mercy and ask for them to be given life in prison instead of capital punishment. Life isn’t that simple though. I can easily see why families and friends of victims would want the murderer killed; it could give some sense of closure. I also believe in leaving ultimate punishment up to God, and I know he will take care of these issues when we die. If you aren’t religious, then that may not be comforting to you – and if so I’m sorry. He sounds like a monster, but as hard as it may be, I think you forgiving him will help bring closure. Carrying that anger only lets him win, and ruin another life, but it sounds like you’ve already made the decision to forgive. I think the best thing you can do is support your friend and make sure that monster serves the time he deserves. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through this and watch your friend grieve, I hope this was somewhat helpful😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

