Merry Christmas Eve!

image1

Merry Christmas Eve, and Happy Chanukah!

If your house is anything like mine, then you’re probably rushing around trying to get everything done for the big day tomorrow. I always prefer Christmas Eve to Christmas Day, because my favorite part of the holiday season is the candlelit service at our church. The festive hymns, and the story of Jesus’s birth always put me in a good mood, and help me to take a step back and examine what Christmas is to me.

Since my faith and religion are very important to me, most of my Christmas celebrations involve talking about Jesus, because it’s kind his day, ya know? I find the story of Jesus’s birth very empowering as a woman. Mary was a virgin, and only a young teenager, yet she brought the greatest gift to the universe into the world. She gave birth in a manger – and all without any pain meds, or medical professionals to help her might I add. Mary was completely obedient to God, even when she afraid, and is responsible for raising the son of God. If that isn’t crazy , I don’t know what is! God could have chosen anyone or any way to bring his son into the world, but he chose a young, woman living in poverty, and I think that’s beautiful. Women weren’t respected back then, and were treated as property, but God gave Mary the greatest task of all, and she responded with nothing but complete faith and trust in the Lord.

s448471373929082523_p198_i1_w1280

Every Christmas Eve my immediate family always watches “A Christmas Story.”  I could probably quote the whole movie from start to finish, but it’s still one of my favorite traditions we have. We even have a miniature leg lamp as a decoration upstairs during the holidays. Sitting around the TV, while the fireplace going, all laughing and commenting on the movie, always brings me lots of joy. As crazy as my family can drive me, I truly cherish the moments I get to spend with all of them.

images-3

I hope you are having a good holiday season, if you celebrate any holidays in this winter. And if the 24th-25th are just regular days for you, I hope you do something fun, and have a good time. Christmas is always a joyous time for me, and I pray that whatever your situation may be,  you find a little glimmer of happiness or positivity this holiday season.

Wishing You Lots of Love and Joy this Christmas Season,

Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas Eve!

Leave a Reply

