Practicing Intersectional Feminism

I consider myself to be an intersectional feminist. I work to look as aspects of feminism from more than my own perspective. For reference I am a teenage, white, middle class, cisgender, chronically ill,  lesbian. I have a lot of privilege, and I try my best to always be aware of it, and use it to help others.

Feminism is for everyone, plain and simple. If you want to hear more about why I identify as a feminist, read this. There is a problem with white women practicing something that has been coined as ,”white feminism.” Essentially white feminism, is believing in feminist values, while only looking through the perspective of being straight, white, female, and cisgender. So  “white feminism” isn’t feminism at all.

tumblr_nuu37recqi1r3trzro1_500

I can pretty easily see the perspective of other queer women, because I am queer woman. I’m aware of the problems our community faces, because not only am I a member, but I also read a lot on LGBTQ+ issues, and try to keep myself informed. I am also chronically ill, so I understand some of the struggles the people face who suffer from chronic illness.  I have people of other genders close to me in my life but I will never fully be able to understand what it is like to be male, trans, or non-binary. I make an effort to understand the problems people of all genders face in society, and do my best to help see aspects of feminism through their eyes.  Being middle class and still dependent on my parents financially, there are a lot of struggles I most likely will never experience. I attempt to examine the problems people who live in low income households face, and fight for their rights to access to better health care, education, and job opportunities. I can only speak for the experiences I have had, but I strive to learn and understand others struggles to the best of my ability.

6360125941482243431175881552_tumblr_mu4239ywbb1r0cemdo1_500

Essentially intersectional feminism is all inclusive, and views issues from the standpoint of every race, religion, sex, gender, sexuality, age, ability, and economic status. The term “intersectional feminism” was coined by civil rights advocate Kimberlé Williams Crenshaw. I believe intersectional feminism is the only real “type” of feminism. Intersectionality looks at feminism from every view point, and that’s the only way I feel feminism can truly be effective.

Let me know you’re thoughts on intersectionality, and how you attempt to practice it!

 

Lots of Love,

Alyssa

 

20 thoughts on “Practicing Intersectional Feminism

  1. Pingback: Feminist Activism
  2. Totally agree. Being a white, middle class, cisgender, able-bodied, bisexual woman, I have a lot of privilege and have to try my best to stay away from white feminism. Awesome post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on A Vodka Kind of Mom and commented:
    I think this woman’s ideas on feminism are ones the world needs to hear. After I read this I took a step back and looked at my own life and ideals. I looked at what I thought it meant to be a feminist, seeing as how I am a white female. Like Alyssa says, “‘white feminism’ isn’t feminism at all.”
    Please, take a few minutes to read her post and let me know what you think about her ideas on intersectional feminism. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your outlook on feminism. It really made me take a step back and look at my life and how I see myself. I want to go forward and be more open to other women and the struggles they are facing.
    I do Feminist Friday on my blog and would love to have you guest author anytime you want. ❤️ I also plan on reblogging this post this Friday, if that’s okay with you.

    Like

    1. I would love if you reblogged it, and would definitely be interested in writing something for you. I am guilty of judging others too quickly, but I try to see things from different perspectives.Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes to all of this!! If more people knew the values of intersectional feminism instead of looking at people like Amy Schumer and Lena Dunham (and got over the “fem” part) more people would agree that they actually are feminist.

    Like

Leave a Reply

