High School Dropout

Yup, you read that right, I am a high school drop out. Saying or rather typing those words still stings deeply. This is not something I ever imagined being a part of my narrative, but here I am, 17 and no longer going to school.

I dropped out in November of this year after struggling for the past five years with crippling chronic illness. I have been formally diagnosed with abdominal migraines, and chronic migraines, but I am still trying to get answers about other health problems I might have which include PCOS and hyper mobility syndrome.

I worked incredibly hard these past five years to make decent grades and complete all my work. I attended school less than 50% of the time most years, and was put into a “homebound” status by my school in 7th, 9th, 10th, and 11th grade. When I was on homebound I had a teacher come to my house to give me my work, and teach what they could. Unfortunately they weren’t very much help, and it is incredibly hard to do AP high school classes with little to no instruction.

As far as my plans for future education, I plan on getting my GED in the winter/spring of 2017, and then in the fall of 2017 starting some college courses at my local community college. There’s so many holes in my education, this isn’t going to be easy, but I don’t really have any other options. In the short time I’ve been out of school I’ve had everyone I know offer their opinion , that I didn’t ask for. “You should really try online high school”, “There’s so many other options!” None of these things are helpful to me, and online high school isn’t going to work for my situation. I am going to take some online classes to try and “get educated” before I go to college, but I’m not pursuing a high school diploma.

There are very few people who will be able to understand what I’ve been going through, but I know that I’m no the only one to ever drop out of high school. My parents tell me this will be the “miraculous part of my story,” but I’m not so sure. What I do know is I have to pick myself up off the pavement and continue on.

– Alyssa

 

5 thoughts on “High School Dropout

Leave a Reply

