Meet Me!

My name is Alyssa, and I am a seventeen year old, queer girl, who was born and raised in Texas. I have many passions including social justice, , feminism, LGBT culture, chronic illness awareness, and Christianity. My personality and interests are made up of things that typically “don’t go together”, like being Queer and being a Christian, and being progressive and living in the south. I wanted to start this blog to grow as a writer, and create a safe space for other young people in the LGBT & Spoonie communities.

 

My family and I love animals, with that being said we have two dogs, Charlie a 6 year old Lhasa Apso-Maltese mix, and Maggie a 2 year old “flashy fawn” Boxer. I also have a 4 year old, tabby cat named Sophie.

I’ve always lived in Texas, and even though it’s a very conservative state I like it here. It isn’t as bad as most people make it out to seem. You’ll find some blue scattered about all the red.

Some things I enjoy are binge watching Netflix shows, writing (but I mean, isn’t that a given?), and playing with all our pets. Lately I’ve been too into watching my favorite guilty pleasure show – Rupaul’s Drag Race. Being chronically ill means I can’t do a lot of the things that healthy people enjoy, but I try to find joy in the little things.

I hope this blog can bring someone a little bit of joy or open their eyes to viewing the world or a topic in a new way. Follow me along in my journey, as being Queerly Texan!

– Alyssa

One thought on “Meet Me!

Leave a Reply

